EU Foreign Policy Chief called on UN member countries to impose restrictions on Russia

EU Foreign Policy Chief called on UN member countries to impose restrictions on RussiaEU Foreign Policy Chief Federica Mogherini has called on UN member countries to follow the lead of the European Union and to impose restrictions on Russia on the second anniversary of Crimea's 'reunification' with Russia.

"The European Union remains committed to fully implementing its non-recognition policy [regarding Crimea's reunification with Russia], including through restrictive measures," Mogherini said in her declaration released on Friday.

"The EU calls again on UN Member States to consider similar non-recognition measures in line with the UNGA Resolution 68/262," she said.
The resolution was passed in March 2014 and condemned Crimea's reunification with Russia.

Read also: US will never accept occupation of Crimea – Department of State

Mogherini reaffirmed her "deep concern at the military build-up and the deterioration of the human rights situation in the Crimean peninsula, including the denial of freedom of expression, freedom of peaceful assembly, freedom of religion and belief, and the persecution of persons belonging to minorities, in particular the Crimean Tatars."

"Oleh Sentsov and Oleksandr Kolchenko, detained and sentenced in breach of international law, should be immediately released and guaranteed a safe return to Ukraine," the European foreign policy chief said.
See also:
Leave a comment
  • Latest
  • Read
  • Commented
Calendar Content
«    Февраль 2023    »