National Council for Television initiates sanctions on 38 TV channels

National Council for Television initiates sanctions on 38 TV channelsThe National Council on Television and Radio will address the National Security Council with a proposal to use special personal economic and other restrictive measures (sanctions) to 38 legal persons of the Russian Federation.

According to the National Council, this decision was approved and adopted at today’s meeting of National Council with the purpose to ensure information security and protect the territorial integrity of Ukraine.

According to the National Council’s member Sergei Kostynskij, the list includes Russian federal channels and TV channels registered by “Roskomnadzor” on the territory of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol, as well as those which functions in the occupied areas of the Donetsk and Lugansk regions.

"We believe that the decision concerning federal channels is fundamental. These channels are affiliated with the Russian state, among their shareholders is the Russian state. They pay taxes to the Russian budget, broadcast in favor of Russian propaganda. This decision prohibits them to function using any form work and they are banned from relaying in Ukraine. This applies also to the work of journalists and the possibility to go to the list of the abovementioned adapted channels broadcasted by Internet providers, "- he said.

According to Konstynskij it often happens that internet services’ providers who are not among the licensees of the National Council, relay these channels through technology OTT.
"That it empowers to protect Ukraine's information space," - said Kostynskij.

The first Deputy Chairman of the National Council Olga Gerasimyuk said: "Our initiative lies in the sphere of national security as these channels do not provide fro journalistic work, on the contrary, they are involved in the information war and propaganda work."
See also:
Leave a comment
  • Latest
  • Read
  • Commented
Calendar Content
«    Ноябрь 2017    »