Tory leadership race: Contenders clash over Brexit" width="976" height="549">
Contenders to replace Theresa May as Conservative leader have clashed over delivering Brexit during a TV debate. The MPs differed over whether a new deal could be renegotiated with the EU.Leadership hopefuls are appearing before a studio audience at a debate hosted by Channel 4 News anchor Krishnan Guru-Murthy.Boris Johnson is not taking part, arguing that debates with several candidates "can be slightly cacophonous".Rivals have accused Mr Johnson of avoiding media scrutiny, but he has said he will take part in Tuesday's Tory leadership debate on the BBC.
Speaking to Radio 4's World at One, Mr Johnson said he was "pretty bewildered" by claims he was dodging scrutiny."I think the public have had quite a lot of blue-on-blue action, frankly, over the last three years," he added. He said the best time for a debate was on Tuesday after the second ballot.
The UK's next prime minister
Read more about where the candidates stand on Brexit
Quick profiles: Who's in the running for the top jobThe people who will choose the UK's next prime minister
The contenders taking part in Channel 4's debate are Michael Gove, Jeremy Hunt, Sajid Javid, Dominic Raab and Rory Stewart.Mark Harper, Andrea Leadsom and Esther McVey were eliminated after failing to get the necessary 17 votes in the first ballot of Tory MPs on Thursday.Matt Hancock, who won 20 votes, has now withdrawn.The rest will go on to take part in further ballots until two remain.The final pair will be put to a vote of the 160,000 members of the Conservative Party from 22 June. The winner is expected to be announced about four weeks later.
On Tuesday 18 June BBC One will host a live election debate, hosted by Emily Maitlis, between the Conservative MPs who remain in the race.The participants will face questions from viewers across the country via local TV studios.If you would like to ask the candidates a question live on-air, use the form below. It should be addressed to all of them, not a specific politician.
If you are reading this page on the BBC News app, you will need to visit the mobile version of the BBC website to submit your question on this topic.
Boris Johnson
Conservative Party leadership contest
Michael Gove
Rory Stewart
Sajid Javid
Dominic Raab
Jeremy Hunt
See also:
Leave a comment
  • Latest
  • Read
  • Commented
Calendar Content
«    Ноябрь 2019    »