Ackermann claims second Giro d'Italia stage win

[img]" srcset=" 240w, 320w, 480w, 624w, 800w" sizes="(min-width: 900px) 50vw, (min-width: 600px) 70vw, 100vw" alt="Pascal Ackermann wins stage five" class="">
Ackermann also won the second stage from Bologna to FucecchioGermany's Pascal Ackermann took his second stage victory at this year's Giro d'Italia, as former champion Tom Dumoulin withdrew because of injury.On a day of driving rain throughout, Bora-Hansgrohe's Ackermann negotiated surface water in Terracina before timing his sprint to perfection to beat Fernando Gaviria by half a wheel.Primoz Roglic retains the overall lead, 35 seconds ahead of Briton Simon Yates.
Dumoulin, 28, pulled out shortly after Wednesday's start with a knee injury.The Dutch rider, winner in 2017 and second last year behind Britain's Chris Froome, sustained the injury in a heavy fall on Tuesday's fourth stage, losing over four minutes.Dumoulin had been cleared to race by his medical team and the 2017 champion said before the stage: "I want to at least try."But Team Sunweb later tweeted:[/i] "Dumoulin's injuries have proved too painful."

Dumoulin, bleeding heavily from his left knee, was injured in a crash about 6km from the end of stage four
Koren sent home from Giro as four suspended for potential doping
BeSpoke at the Giro d'Italia: Can Roglic lead all the way[/IMG]"It just was lucky that nobody crashed."Stage five results1. Pascal Ackermann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) 3hrs 27mins 05secs2. Fernando Gaviria (Col/UAE Team Emirates) Same time3. Arnaud Demare (Fr/Groupama-FDJ) 4. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto-Soudal) 5. Matteo Moschetti (It/Trek-Segafredo) 6. Ryan Gibbons (RSA/Team Dimension Data) 7. Paolo Simion (It/Bardiani-CSF) 8. Jenthe Biermans (Bel/Team Katusha-Alpecin) 9. Giovanni Lonardi (It/Nippo-Vini Fantini) 10. Manuel Belletti (It/Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) General classification after stage five1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Team Jumbo-Visma) 16hrs 19mins 20secs2. Simon Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +35secs3. Vincenzo Nibali (It/Bahrain - Merida) +39secs4. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana Pro Team) +44secs5. Diego Ulissi (It/UAE Team Emirates) Same time6. Rafal Majka (Pol/Bora-Hansgrohe) +49secs7. Bauke Mollema (Ned/Trek-Segafredo) +55secs8. Damiano Caruso (It/Bahrain-Merida) +56secs9. Bob Jungels (Lux/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +1min 02secs10. Davide Formolo (It/Bora-Hansgrohe) +1min 06secs
See also:
Leave a comment
  • Latest
  • Read
  • Commented
Calendar Content
«    Август 2019    »