Man Utd penalty award was correct - Uefa

[img]" srcset=" 240w, 320w, 480w, 624w, 800w" sizes="(min-width: 900px) 50vw, (min-width: 600px) 70vw, 100vw" alt="Diogo Dalot's shot hit Presnel Kimpembe's arm as United trailed 3-2 on aggregate" class="">
Diogo Dalot's shot hit Presnel Kimpembe's arm as United trailed 3-2 on aggregateUefa has backed the video assistant referee system's decision to award Manchester United an injury-time penalty that knocked Paris St-Germain out of the Champions League.Diogo Dalot's shot hit Presnel Kimpembe's arm but was only deemed a spot-kick after the VAR intervention.Injured PSG forward Neymar called the decision a "disgrace".
But Uefa said the distance the ball covered was "not short" and Kimpembe's arm was "not close" to his body.
The handball rule - what is the latest, and do you agree[/img]
"The referee, therefore, awarded a penalty kick."Given that the referee did not recognise the incident clearly during live play [referred to as serious missed incident in the VAR protocol] an on-field review was conducted."After a lengthy delay where Slovenian referee Damir Skomina conducted the review on a pitch-side monitor, Marcus Rashford scored the penalty to earn United a 3-1 win on the night and send them through on away goals.It was the 21-year-old's first competitive spot-kick for his club and ensured that Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's team became the first in Champions League history to overturn a 2-0 deficit from the home leg in a knockout tie.
See also:
Leave a comment
  • Latest
  • Read
  • Commented
Calendar Content
«    Май 2019    »